Killer Choreographers!!

Standard

You should all take classes from these people they are truly amazing artists! 

DJ GUTHRIE

DJ teaches at the Edge dance studio in LA. He was a musician before a choreographer which makes his work extremely musical and intricate. He focuses on making the choreography work through the music. There is always a visual to his movement, a focus and a direction.I love his musicality.

BRIAN FRIEDMAN

Wade Robson is part of the PULSE convention. He is a choreographer with his own style and is truly an amazing artist. He has worked with many artists such as Brittany Spears, NSync, Michael Jackson, and So You Think You Can Dance. Here is one of my favorite pieces that he has done. His work is usually tied to a strong theme, which gives the dancers the job of acting as well as moving. Something it takes to truly capture an audience.

SONYA TAYEH

Sonya Tayeh is someone from a different dimension. She has choreographed countless amazing people most of which have been seen my the masses on So You Think You Can Dance. She is a very powerful choreographer with very distinct choreography. She teaches at The Edge studio in LA and if you can I would definitely recommend taking her class.

This is just three of the dozens of brilliant artists that teach here in Southern California. Taking class from these choreographers truly helped me grow as a dancer and choreographer myself! I respect all of them so much.

About Jordan

Hello, my name is Jordan Anderson, and I am a college student writing this blog. I am truly passionate about its topic, a Smart and Healthy Dancer. I myself am a dancer, and have been dancing for 7 years. It is my passion, and one that I have had to strive hard to keep. I have overcome many obstacles and adversities to continue my art. I attended Orange County High School of the Arts as a Commercial Dance Conservatory major. My sophomore year in high school I greatly injured myself dancing and found out that I needed surgery and much therapy. Being an athlete, there is a mental and a physical game being played. How many of you have heard the quote, “It’s 80% mental 20% physical?” Its true! Hearing that my body would not be working for an extensive amount of time, and knowing that I will not be able to dance, worried me greatly. Dance is an outlet, a place that allows me to be me, what was I going to do without that? That high that one gets when dancing comes from a chemical reaction in the brain, having to do with endorphins. Endorphins make people happy. Without that constant flow of endorphins, it is really easy to slip into depression. I have encountered some amazing ways to combat that, without disobeying doctor’s orders, something I am prone to do. Trial after trial arose through the process, and I am hoping that through this blog I can help others avoid some of the mistakes I made. I have gone through many chiropractors and have talked to many physical therapists about the dancers body, and it is drastically different then any athletes body. Having this in mind, and having my therapists know, helped tremendously. I hope to fill this blog with information about the dancers body, things to know, the in’s and out’s of finding a good therapist, personal stories, etc. I am excited and would love feedback from all of you! I encourage you to ask questions, leave comments, and let me know what you are going through, so I may find ways to help.

Leave a comment